It is currently Fri Jan 21, 2022 2:29 pm

Click the link below to visit the site sponsor

The Ham Radio Shop

1000 ft+ run of feedline. 
Contributor 2021

Post 1000 ft+ run of feedline.
Hi,

I currently have my antennas around 100ft from my shack but I am exploring the idea of moving all to a location about 1000ft+ away. Visual impact in the area will be reduced and the overall ground elevation could be increased say @200ft or so. I am looking for ideas as to how to feed these antennas with a single feedline from the shack to antenna site. The ldf 450,550etc is a very expensive option. I have been told I could use open wire feeder, but I have no experience with it. Can I make it myself or would it be better to buy? I would like to have a run of coax to the feedline and then the same at the antenna end. Will I need a transformer of some description at both ends to bring back to 50hms. Just an idea at the moment so would be glad to hear any thoughts.

Thu Mar 18, 2010 8:28 pm
Profile Send private message

Advanced Member

Post Re: 1000 ft+ run of feedline.
thats not a run thats a marathon :lol: im not sure what antennas you want to feed but open wire feeder is very simple to make and 1000ft its going to be cheaper than buying commercial stuff which is too stiff for my liking anyway..

going off the the way you explain it coax /ladderline /coax and then needing to be at 50 ohms at the shack end i presume they are 50 ohm unbalanced feed antennas .

billy

Voice is for CBers, amateur radio operators, the average citizen, and the military. In other words, voice is for everyone with a mouth. CW is for those who choose this newer mode of communication. Newer? Why yes. Voice has been around for a million years.

Thu Mar 18, 2010 9:33 pm
Profile Send private message WWW

Silent Key

Yes, that's perfectly feasible - the matched loss of 1000ft of 600 ohm open-wire feed-line is only 1dB at 28MHz.