It is currently Sat Aug 24, 2019 12:22 am

Click the link below to visit the site sponsor

The Ham Radio Shop




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 Is the use of remote SDR 'cheating' ? 
Moderator

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 10:21 pm
Posts: 606
Location: Freckleton, Lancs IO83NS
Feedback: 21 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Is the use of remote SDR 'cheating' ?
From time to time I've used someone else's SDR which they made available on the web.

I've done this out of interest to see how well my signal is being received at some distant location or to have a listen to the tx audio in near real time.

Of course if you live in an area where there's too much man made noise then perhaps it's ok to use someone else's rx to complete a qso ?

I have considered extending my shack via the internet to locate a HF SDR at a quieter location - guess it's a bit like using a remote station.

Any thoughts about the ethics of such 'hybrid' operation ?

73 Tim

_________________
G8GIW licensed in 1972 (C&G RAE), then G4WIM in 1984 (12 wpm CW test), then KT6UK in 2000 (USA Extra Class), now safely back in the UK and retired early (Google bought the company I was working for !)


Sat Feb 15, 2014 9:15 pm
Profile Send private message

 Is the use of remote SDR 'cheating' ? 
Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 10:41 pm
Posts: 6993
Location: Oldham io83wm.
Feedback: 56 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Is the use of remote SDR 'cheating' ?
I have no problem with the ethics at all and would just look at it as another facet of a very wide ranging hobby.

_________________
Image


Sat Feb 15, 2014 9:26 pm
Profile Send private message WWW

 Is the use of remote SDR 'cheating' ? 
Contributor 2018
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 12:30 pm
Posts: 907
Location: Manchester
Feedback: 14 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Is the use of remote SDR 'cheating' ?
I do it all the time, when swamped with local noise on the LF bands I often supplement with Hack Green.
If somebody doesn't like this kind of thing and there surely will be, it's their problem

_________________
G4WLI (G8IKW) Peter
Education officer, West Manchester radio Club http://www.wmrc.co.uk/


Sun Feb 16, 2014 12:09 am
Profile Send private message WWW

 Is the use of remote SDR 'cheating' ? 
Advanced Member

Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 7:21 pm
Posts: 311
Location: driffield east yorkshire IO94SA
Feedback: 24 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Is the use of remote SDR 'cheating' ?
G4WLI wrote:
I do it all the time, when swamped with local noise on the LF bands I often supplement with Hack Green.
If somebody doesn't like this kind of thing and there surely will be, it's their problem


Oops captured, been doing this for a few months because of local noise levels :)


Sun Feb 16, 2014 12:39 am
Profile Send private message

 Is the use of remote SDR 'cheating' ? 
Contributor 2018
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:15 pm
Posts: 14298
Location: io65ga, Donegal
Feedback: 8 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Is the use of remote SDR 'cheating' ?
It doesn't sit well with me, if I can't have a QSO using my own equipment I wouldn't bother.
I have however used SDR's in far off places to check how my signal.

_________________
Even duct tape can't fix stupid, but it can muffle the sound.


Sun Feb 16, 2014 1:36 am
Profile Send private message

 Is the use of remote SDR 'cheating' ? 
Contributor 2018

Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:14 am
Posts: 1860
Location: DERBYSHIRE
Feedback: 95 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Is the use of remote SDR 'cheating' ?
Hello
I have a remote rx station 30 mile away from my home,its my own station that i set up last year.
Quite amazing the stations i hear from the remote rx that i can not hear from my radio at home.
The remote rx is 1300ft asl and i have two switchable aerials to use..looking forward to tx ing from home via the my remote station...great fun...i often check my signal and audio...from home via my remote station.
Regards
Steve

_________________
The law of un-intentional consequences will in the very end be your downfall.


Sun Feb 16, 2014 9:04 am
Profile Send private message

 Is the use of remote SDR 'cheating' ? 
Advanced Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 9:30 pm
Posts: 1148
Location: Newton-le-Willows io83ql
Feedback: 13 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Is the use of remote SDR 'cheating' ?
So you are asking if using your own system for TX
But someone else's SDR for RX is ok ?

Hmmm NO
Sorry i don't think it is
In my opinion you have to TX/RX from your own station to say
you have made a contact.

What happen's if it's an all time new DXCC would you be able to claim it ?

_________________
Ian
G7PUN


Sun Feb 16, 2014 9:17 am
Profile Send private message ICQ

 Is the use of remote SDR 'cheating' ? 
Contributor 2018
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:15 pm
Posts: 14298
Location: io65ga, Donegal
Feedback: 8 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Is the use of remote SDR 'cheating' ?
Where does it stop, you do absolutely nothing apart from pay a subscription before keying a mic then bask in the satisfaction of making the contact. :scratch:
How's that in keeping with the ethos of AR?
http://www.remotehamradio.com/

_________________
Even duct tape can't fix stupid, but it can muffle the sound.


Sun Feb 16, 2014 9:26 am
Profile Send private message

 Is the use of remote SDR 'cheating' ? 
Advanced Member

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 9:38 am
Posts: 2115
Location: Southwest Angus IO86LL
Feedback: 7 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Is the use of remote SDR 'cheating' ?
ei9ju wrote:
Where does it stop, you do absolutely nothing apart from pay a subscription before keying a mic then bask in the satisfaction of making the contact. :scratch:
How's that in keeping with the ethos of AR?
http://www.remotehamradio.com/


In this circumstance should you not have to use the remote stations call sign :scratch:

As for use of an SDR rx yes great if its for your own tests but a big no if you plan to use it for a valid QSL QSO
and to think some turn there nose up at echolink/Dstar even when both sides are using RF :)

_________________
Peter GM1CMF


Sun Feb 16, 2014 10:11 am
Profile Send private message WWW

 Is the use of remote SDR 'cheating' ? 
Contributor 2018
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:15 pm
Posts: 14298
Location: io65ga, Donegal
Feedback: 8 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Is the use of remote SDR 'cheating' ?
GM1CMF wrote:
ei9ju wrote:
Where does it stop, you do absolutely nothing apart from pay a subscription before keying a mic then bask in the satisfaction of making the contact. :scratch:
How's that in keeping with the ethos of AR?
http://www.remotehamradio.com/


In this circumstance should you not have to use the remote stations call sign :scratch:



As far as I'm aware, NO.
You hear K9BHP (KC9MOS) remote all the time using European stations, his own callsign abbreviated with the remote stations country prefix.

BTW, I'm nearly sure that's something wouldn't be allowed in Ireland were Comreg plan on limiting "remote" use/TX only to stations within Ei.

_________________
Even duct tape can't fix stupid, but it can muffle the sound.


Sun Feb 16, 2014 10:19 am
Profile Send private message

 Is the use of remote SDR 'cheating' ? 
Contributor 2018
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 1:46 pm
Posts: 17897
Location: Shropshire UK IO82TN
Feedback: 5 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Is the use of remote SDR 'cheating' ?
I only use the web SDR's for comparitive, and self transmission tests really, and of course for a bit of SWL, when away on jobs, with no equipment access!
I might be tempted in a general "Round Robin" QSO situation, where say one station in an interesting net is "lost in the noise", but the others fine, just to fill in the gaps so to speak, but for true one on one, counted for the log contacts, no I wouldn't.

_________________
Dave G0BHD.
Been there and got the T shirt, sadly like the T shirt the memory of it has long since faded, gone rather tatty, and finally been consigned to the bin!


Sun Feb 16, 2014 10:33 am
Profile Send private message

 Is the use of remote SDR 'cheating' ? 
Advanced Member

Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 10:23 am
Posts: 326
Location: Towcester, Northants
Feedback: 33 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Is the use of remote SDR 'cheating' ?
It's too easy to say what should and should not be allowed. It does sound like the old Class A vs Class B arguments gone wide. Also, leaving aside exactly how it is achieved, is any communications which is not direct RF station to station acceptable, or unacceptable; and to whom? Personally, I don't care. I like talking to people using radio. That about sums it up. I will look on the various SDR sites to judge activity, although I don't use them as receivers; but I don't mind if somebody else does. A "contact" entirely through the net using echolink both ends doesn't seem quite "amateur radio", but why should anyone wish to prevent it? It's not my approach, but I won't deny the attractions to other people.

Good to see this forum Tim, I will try to make my next contribution more technical.

73
Peter G8EUX


Fri Mar 07, 2014 7:58 pm
Profile Send private message

 Is the use of remote SDR 'cheating' ? 
Advanced Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:07 pm
Posts: 11114
Location: Workington, Cumbria.
Feedback: 4 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Is the use of remote SDR 'cheating' ?
Sounds like a brilliant idea. So hams who live in BedSits etc can still enjoy ham radio?

The people who let other hams remote through their 'fortunate' station sound like nice people.

_________________
Chris.


Fri Mar 07, 2014 8:04 pm
Profile Send private message

 Is the use of remote SDR 'cheating' ? 
Moderator

Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 1:23 pm
Posts: 5662
Location: Northampton IO92ME
Feedback: 1 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Is the use of remote SDR 'cheating' ?
For me there's a big difference between operating a remote station that you have built yourself, and a station someone else built and maintains that you simply "log into" along with other users.

Steve G3TXQ


Fri Mar 07, 2014 8:06 pm
Profile Send private message WWW

 Is the use of remote SDR 'cheating' ? 
Moderator

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 10:21 pm
Posts: 606
Location: Freckleton, Lancs IO83NS
Feedback: 21 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Is the use of remote SDR 'cheating' ?
Hi Steve,

agreed using your own remote station at a better location is ok by me and fairly common place with some of my ham friends back in the USA who are constrained by covenants on their property.

In fact there are some pretty amazing remote stations with remote SDR and big HF beams placed on top of tall office buildings - helps if the CEO of the company is a ham !

I've even considered doing something similar here (but on a much smaller scale) if I could find a suitable remote site - plus it'd be a fun technical challenge.

I tend to think that using just a remote rx to overcome local interference is ok for rag chewing providing the tx is under your direct control and local to your station.

Where it becomes dubious is when remote operation is used to win awards and could be an unfair advantage - in the extreme case you could use a remote station for both tx / rx right on the door step of the DX station.

Like Peter I have no problem mixing RF with internet connectivity - providing there is at least one RF link in use at one end or the other.

Echolink net to net always struck me as a little odd when there's no RF involved - why bother with callsigns etc ?

_________________
G8GIW licensed in 1972 (C&G RAE), then G4WIM in 1984 (12 wpm CW test), then KT6UK in 2000 (USA Extra Class), now safely back in the UK and retired early (Google bought the company I was working for !)


Sat Mar 08, 2014 9:51 am
Profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.