It is currently Sat Aug 24, 2019 12:30 am

Click the link below to visit the site sponsor

The Ham Radio Shop




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
 4mtr 6mtr beam 
Advanced Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 8:58 pm
Posts: 363
Location: tamworth staffordshire
Feedback: 10 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post 4mtr 6mtr beam
Hi all has anyone seen any designs for a 4 / 6 mtr traped beam I am looking to put one in the loft moxon is to big on 6 and when it turns the swr goes mad so any idears ?


Tue Aug 13, 2013 7:39 pm
Profile Send private message

 4mtr 6mtr beam 
Contributor 2018
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 8:00 pm
Posts: 2453
Location: Isle of Wight. IO90FQ. EU-120.
Feedback: 31 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: 4mtr 6mtr beam
Jaybeam did one years ago.

Hows things Phil.

Me too playing 4 & 6, wish i still lived at my old house. Better take off than this hole.
Think i slipped up somewhere.

Phil G7BZD


Tue Aug 13, 2013 7:51 pm
Profile Send private message

 4mtr 6mtr beam 
Contributor 2019
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 11:43 pm
Posts: 2057
Location: Mwyljyn Moddey, Ellan Vannin. IO74ti
Feedback: 36 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: 4mtr 6mtr beam
Hi its not trapped but G0KSC does parasitic dual band beams. I built the 4 ele 4m/6m jobbie for only a few quid. Results have been more than satisfactory.

His web site has plans to build or a link to buy a ready made one.

_________________
Andy - GD1MIP
Using decidedly average equipment from Mwyljyn Moddey, Ellan Vannin or IO74ti to you and I.


Thu Aug 15, 2013 1:09 pm
Profile Send private message

 4mtr 6mtr beam 
Advanced Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 8:58 pm
Posts: 363
Location: tamworth staffordshire
Feedback: 10 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: 4mtr 6mtr beam
The problem is its going in my loft can turn hb9c on 4 mtrs but not 6 so was looking for a loaded dual beam
Thanks for you ideas


Thu Aug 15, 2013 5:50 pm
Profile Send private message

 4mtr 6mtr beam 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:15 pm
Posts: 5899
Location: Southport, Merseyside IO83MP
Feedback: 103 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: 4mtr 6mtr beam
GD1MIP wrote:
Hi its not trapped but G0KSC does parasitic dual band beams. I built the 4 ele 4m/6m jobbie for only a few quid. Results have been more than satisfactory.

His web site has plans to build or a link to buy a ready made one.


I've got the 4 ele one, its great

_________________
http://www.qrz.com/db/g0lzx



Ricky 07872164186

I'd like to see things from YOUR point of view, i just can't get my head that far up my rectum!


Thu Aug 15, 2013 6:52 pm
Profile Send private message WWW

 4mtr 6mtr beam 
Contributor 2019
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 11:43 pm
Posts: 2057
Location: Mwyljyn Moddey, Ellan Vannin. IO74ti
Feedback: 36 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: 4mtr 6mtr beam
g7igc wrote:
The problem is its going in my loft can turn hb9c on 4 mtrs but not 6 so was looking for a loaded dual beam Thanks for you ideas

Just a thought. I used to have the Jaybeam 4m/6m 4 ele trapped yagi, it was in reality just as big as the G0KSC one I mentioned above, as I understand it, it was a 6m beam, in effect the traps just electrically shortened it for 4m.
If you want 4m size to cover 6m you need some form of shortened affair ie helical / capacitance spoked or completely different design such as a quad.

_________________
Andy - GD1MIP
Using decidedly average equipment from Mwyljyn Moddey, Ellan Vannin or IO74ti to you and I.


Thu Aug 15, 2013 8:01 pm
Profile Send private message

 4mtr 6mtr beam 
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 1:02 pm
Posts: 14697
Location: IO83lb, Wrexham
Feedback: 16 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: 4mtr 6mtr beam
g7igc wrote:
The problem is its going in my loft can turn hb9c on 4 mtrs but not 6 so was looking for a loaded dual beam
Thanks for you ideas

Would a couple of Moxons, or Super Moxons, fit in the space?
Failing that, a couple of cloverleaf antennas?
Not directional, I know, but might be the best you can do.

Cheers

Tony

_________________
50MHz and above from IO83lb


Thu Aug 15, 2013 9:38 pm
Profile Send private message

 4mtr 6mtr beam 
Contributor 2018
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:15 pm
Posts: 14298
Location: io65ga, Donegal
Feedback: 8 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: 4mtr 6mtr beam
You'd need to be really hard-pressed for space if a 6m Hexbeam won't fit.

_________________
Even duct tape can't fix stupid, but it can muffle the sound.


Thu Aug 15, 2013 9:49 pm
Profile Send private message

 4mtr 6mtr beam 
Contributor 2019
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 11:43 pm
Posts: 2057
Location: Mwyljyn Moddey, Ellan Vannin. IO74ti
Feedback: 36 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: 4mtr 6mtr beam
GD1MIP wrote:
Just a thought. I used to have the Jaybeam 4m/6m 4 ele trapped yagi, it was in reality just as big as the G0KSC one I mentioned above.


To back up my comment

JayBeam Model DB4 4/6 MKII 4 element yagi.
Boom length = 3m, longest element = 2.96m. Quoted gain 4m = 7dbd, 6m = 6dbd

G0KSC SC6-4-8D 50/70Mhz yagi.
Boom length = 2.08m, longest element = 2.916m. Quoted gain 4m = : 8.54dBi 6m = 8.6dBi

So from a turning point of view no real world difference.

_________________
Andy - GD1MIP
Using decidedly average equipment from Mwyljyn Moddey, Ellan Vannin or IO74ti to you and I.


Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:08 pm
Profile Send private message

 4mtr 6mtr beam 
Advanced Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 8:58 pm
Posts: 363
Location: tamworth staffordshire
Feedback: 10 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: 4mtr 6mtr beam
Thanks for your coments will have alook at those designs
cheers and beers


Fri Aug 16, 2013 5:56 am
Profile Send private message

 4mtr 6mtr beam 
Advanced Member

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 11:15 am
Posts: 102
Location: Waterlooville, Hampshire IO90LV
Feedback: 3 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: 4mtr 6mtr beam
Have you considered a 2el dual band Quad for 6m & 4m? A 6m Quad has a smaller turning radius than a 6m yagi although you do require more vertical height.

73's Vince G3TKN / ZL1VL


Mon Aug 26, 2013 9:33 am
Profile Send private message

 4mtr 6mtr beam 
Contributor 2018

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 6:44 am
Posts: 202
Location: moreton-io83kj
Feedback: 20 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: 4mtr 6mtr beam
Hi.Whilst looking for a different item i came across this,might give you an idea? http://www.sandpiperaerials.co.uk/index ... cts_id=266


Mon Aug 26, 2013 10:09 am
Profile Send private message

 4mtr 6mtr beam 
Advanced Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 8:58 pm
Posts: 363
Location: tamworth staffordshire
Feedback: 10 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: 4mtr 6mtr beam
I bought one its no good indoors every time it turned swr goes high
thanks



g1elg wrote:
Hi.Whilst looking for a different item i came across this,might give you an idea? http://www.sandpiperaerials.co.uk/index ... cts_id=266


Wed Aug 28, 2013 7:06 am
Profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.