It is currently Thu Oct 18, 2018 1:15 pm

Click the link below to visit the site sponsor

The Ham Radio Shop




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
 Have I got RF in the shack? 
Advanced Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 9:16 pm
Posts: 120
Location: Norris Green Liverpool IO83NK
Feedback: 15 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Have I got RF in the shack?
Hi Guys,

I have a Cushcraft D4 Dipole which is for 10,15,20 also 40mtrs, except on 40mtrs it tunes fine with a LDG AT-100Pro, but what i'm finding now is that only on 40mtrs SSB it starts to search for a vswr path ie it starts to tune.

In the CW mode on the radio it seems to work fine, it's just on 40mtrs LSB.

I have a RF Choke at the feed point of 6-8 turns of RG213U.

Any suggestions or anyone had the same problem with possibly this particular tuner?

Regards Paul G0WRE/VK4WRE.

"The best number is 73. Why? 73 is the 21st prime number. Its mirror (37) is the 12th and its mirror (21) is the product of multiplying, 7 and 3. ... In binary, 73 is a palindrome, 1001001 which backwards is 1001001."

-Dr. Sheldon Cooper, (Jim Parsons), "Big Bang Theory"

"Just to invite your attention to "73" in Morse code--also a palindrome."

_________________
Regards Paul G0WRE/VK4WRE

"The best number is 73. Why? 73 is the 21st prime number. Its mirror (37) is the 12th and its mirror (21) is the product of multiplying, 7 and 3. ... In binary, 73 is a palindrome, 1001001 which backwards is 1001001."


Sat Mar 30, 2013 7:58 am
Profile Send private message WWW

 Have I got RF in the shack? 

Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 3:14 pm
Posts: 1
Feedback: 0 (0%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Have I got RF in the shack?
[quote="g0wre"]Hi Guys,

I have a Cushcraft D4 Dipole which is for 10,15,20 also 40mtrs, except on 40mtrs it tunes fine with a LDG AT-100Pro, but what i'm finding now is that only on 40mtrs SSB it starts to search for a vswr path ie it starts to tune.

In the CW mode on the radio it seems to work fine, it's just on 40mtrs LSB.

I have a RF Choke at the feed point of 6-8 turns of RG213U.

Any suggestions or anyone had the same problem with possibly this particular tuner?

Regards Paul G0WRE/VK4WRE.

hi paul
try a one to one choke I use ag5rv half size on n other side of wall got tv , a simple on is the coax choke i.e. ugly balun 6 turns is not much for HF ,ok for higher band , one I would recommend building is an "ugly balun
http://www.hamuniverse.com/balun.html, it works my half size even tunes with my ldg200 pro on 6m with it and 80m
Andy
M0nst


Fri Apr 05, 2013 10:46 pm
Profile Send private message

 Have I got RF in the shack? 
Advanced Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 9:30 pm
Posts: 1148
Location: Newton-le-Willows io83ql
Feedback: 13 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Have I got RF in the shack?
Hi Paul

Just a quick question...
Why do you need a tuner for 40m on a D4 ?
It should be resonant shouldn't it ?
If it's not i think i would start by checking the dipole out..traps,joint,etc etc

_________________
Ian
G7PUN


Fri Apr 05, 2013 11:41 pm
Profile Send private message ICQ

 Have I got RF in the shack? 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:15 pm
Posts: 5899
Location: Southport, Merseyside IO83MP
Feedback: 103 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Have I got RF in the shack?
he did and it was ian lol

_________________
http://www.qrz.com/db/g0lzx



Ricky 07872164186

I'd like to see things from YOUR point of view, i just can't get my head that far up my rectum!


Sat Apr 06, 2013 7:28 am
Profile Send private message WWW

 Have I got RF in the shack? 
Contributor 2017
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 12:00 pm
Posts: 2645
Location: Warrington-ish......... IO83ql
Feedback: 99 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Have I got RF in the shack?
might I point everyone to this thread:-

viewtopic.php?f=43&t=41851

particularly Steves response regarding distance between the choke and the mast / boom.

I've now got my choke dangling about 3 inches below the boom at the feedpoint, and the difference it made is incredible.

no more RF in the shack, and a much cleaner pattern from the Mosley, or at least that's how it seems.

cracking pile-ups has never been easier!

_________________
Heil - Icom - Expert - Mosley

from here, to the world.


Sat Apr 06, 2013 11:01 am
Profile Send private message

 Have I got RF in the shack? 
Advanced Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 9:30 pm
Posts: 1148
Location: Newton-le-Willows io83ql
Feedback: 13 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Have I got RF in the shack?
bonehead wrote:
cracking pile-ups has never been easier!



Might i just point out the Acom is warm and maybe that's why you are doing it :clapping: :clapping:

_________________
Ian
G7PUN


Sat Apr 06, 2013 6:56 pm
Profile Send private message ICQ

 Have I got RF in the shack? 
Contributor 2017
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 12:00 pm
Posts: 2645
Location: Warrington-ish......... IO83ql
Feedback: 99 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Have I got RF in the shack?
yep, 400w is ample, but my rig wont do that on its own.

_________________
Heil - Icom - Expert - Mosley

from here, to the world.


Sat Apr 06, 2013 8:19 pm
Profile Send private message

 Have I got RF in the shack? 
Advanced Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 9:16 pm
Posts: 120
Location: Norris Green Liverpool IO83NK
Feedback: 15 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Have I got RF in the shack?
Thanks Rick as you are aware it was a trap.Ian spot on...............Sorry for the delay in posting what it was.

_________________
Regards Paul G0WRE/VK4WRE

"The best number is 73. Why? 73 is the 21st prime number. Its mirror (37) is the 12th and its mirror (21) is the product of multiplying, 7 and 3. ... In binary, 73 is a palindrome, 1001001 which backwards is 1001001."


Tue Apr 09, 2013 12:28 pm
Profile Send private message WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.