It is currently Wed Aug 21, 2019 4:04 pm

Click the link below to visit the site sponsor

The Ham Radio Shop




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
 Help with RFI in the shack 
Advanced Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 11:41 pm
Posts: 619
Location: Plymouth Devon...IO70WJ
Feedback: 45 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Help with RFI in the shack
Hi Guys i'm after a bit of help.
My setup consists of a Carolina windom 80 special it runs diagionally from the chimney pot of the house down to the corner of the garden to a post at about 7feet off the ground.The coax then runs back to the house . the long end it highest (hot end I think) .
Reason for the slope is that my 6 element 10m beam is in the path but by sloping the wire it rins underneath the beam when the beam is down in its park position.
I know the windom is a bit of a compromise antenna .
Hear is my problem:
when on 10m I get RFI in the shack and can see it by the touch lamp going crackers.
When on 40m all is fine - seems like the antenna better suits 40m .
I have the radio works 80special with the balon and choke . Also I have a line insulator out the back of the rig and one leaving the linear .
The RFI on 10m is there from 10w upwards.
could I attach stubs to my coax for 10m and if so has anyone done anything like this to rid RFI .
or maybe another choke or is the multiples on the antenna just not make any difference.
or is it just too many lobes on 10m ?

_________________
M0ZOL Plymouth Devon
http://www.qrz.com/db/m0zol


Tue Dec 04, 2012 4:56 pm
Profile Send private message WWW

 Help with RFI in the shack 
Contributor 2018

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 8:11 pm
Posts: 3002
Location: Markyate, St Albans, IO91ST
Feedback: 7 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Help with RFI in the shack
Yes, get rid of the touch lamp. They are a pain in the rump, you won't stop them picking up RF because they are doing what they are designed to do. We had one in the bedroom and the XYL wasn't too pleased being woken up with an Aldis lamp in the room. It got taken down the local tip.

_________________
Image


Tue Dec 04, 2012 5:12 pm
Profile Send private message

 Help with RFI in the shack 
Advanced Member

Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:05 am
Posts: 138
Location: Eastbourne JO00CT
Feedback: 4 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Help with RFI in the shack
We have one of those touch lamps as well. I can switch it on with a 100w on 40m or 80m.

It was in my daughters bedroom, but it was freaking her out! :). It's now in our bedroom, The missus doesn't seem to care/notice!


Tue Dec 04, 2012 5:27 pm
Profile Send private message WWW

 Help with RFI in the shack 
Advanced Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 8:56 pm
Posts: 2939
Location: IO92mg Northampton... Boz Wellox!
Feedback: 2 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Help with RFI in the shack
We had one from Matalan, a swish brushed stainless thing and it pretty well wiped out most of HF when turned on... her indrawers wasn't happy when it packed up a short time later and actually turned a bit nasty when it turned out the failure was due to the plug top fuse being absent. :thumbsup:

Cheers, Dave.


Tue Dec 04, 2012 5:33 pm
Profile Send private message

 Help with RFI in the shack 
Advanced Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 11:41 pm
Posts: 619
Location: Plymouth Devon...IO70WJ
Feedback: 45 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Help with RFI in the shack
Hehehehe ,
The touch lamp I was given by my next door neighbour .

They would awake in the middle of the night and wander what was going on .
They replaced the lamp twice.
later another night they got spooked, so not being able to sleep went out into their garden to get some air only to hear what they called the talking shed talking .
Thats why I have the lamp now , I replaced it for them.


But My RFI elimination has improved 10 fold since then . I can run the legal limit on 40m without it going off.
BUT
10m even on 10w it goes off.
The lamp is crap but ,
I have RF in my audio when i am running my rack on 10m so use a handmike there no Rf in my audio on 40 though .

_________________
M0ZOL Plymouth Devon
http://www.qrz.com/db/m0zol


Tue Dec 04, 2012 5:39 pm
Profile Send private message WWW

 Help with RFI in the shack 
Contributor 2018

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 8:11 pm
Posts: 3002
Location: Markyate, St Albans, IO91ST
Feedback: 7 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Help with RFI in the shack
Ah, Dave, that's where you failed. You should have put a duff fuse in and when super-ham cames to the rescue you could have said, "oh my, it must be faulty, we will have to dispose of it" :good:

_________________
Image


Tue Dec 04, 2012 5:43 pm
Profile Send private message

 Help with RFI in the shack 
Advanced Member

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 12:25 pm
Posts: 108
Location: Torbay, IO80FL
Feedback: 1 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Help with RFI in the shack
Sorry, what antenna are you getting RF issues with on 10m, the windom or the beam ? Are you using a choke ?

_________________
M0PCZ - Paul.

https://twitter.com/#!/M0PCZ
http://www.rivieraarc.org.uk/


Fri Dec 07, 2012 8:21 pm
Profile Send private message

 Help with RFI in the shack 
Advanced Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 11:41 pm
Posts: 619
Location: Plymouth Devon...IO70WJ
Feedback: 45 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Help with RFI in the shack
Paul ,
Thanks for asking,
Have just put another choke out in the garden a quarter wave back from the windoms choke , it has sorted it .
The crappy touch lamp doesn't switch on anymore so that was a good indication.
I went on an ARRL site that explained about the currents on a feed line on different bands and where exactly to place the choke.
Spent a good few hours reading there and its helped no end .
I am supprised that there are not many tech minded hams about on this forum , must be polishing their black boxes.
Cheers :good:

_________________
M0ZOL Plymouth Devon
http://www.qrz.com/db/m0zol


Fri Dec 07, 2012 9:00 pm
Profile Send private message WWW

 Help with RFI in the shack 
Contributor 2018

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 8:11 pm
Posts: 3002
Location: Markyate, St Albans, IO91ST
Feedback: 7 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Help with RFI in the shack
wdc wrote:
Paul ,

I am supprised that there are not many tech minded hams about on this forum , must be polishing their black boxes.
Cheers :good:


Nice put down, would you like to have a go at building a complete home brew station? This was my station up until a couple of years ago.

Image

_________________
Image


Fri Dec 07, 2012 9:58 pm
Profile Send private message

 Help with RFI in the shack 
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 1:02 pm
Posts: 14696
Location: IO83lb, Wrexham
Feedback: 16 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Help with RFI in the shack
wdc wrote:
Paul ,
Thanks for asking,
Have just put another choke out in the garden a quarter wave back from the windoms choke , it has sorted it .
The crappy touch lamp doesn't switch on anymore so that was a good indication.
I went on an ARRL site that explained about the currents on a feed line on different bands and where exactly to place the choke.
Spent a good few hours reading there and its helped no end .
I am supprised that there are not many tech minded hams about on this forum , must be polishing their black boxes.
Cheers :good:

Just not interested in HF. :lol:

Cheers

Tony

_________________
50MHz and above from IO83lb


Fri Dec 07, 2012 10:15 pm
Profile Send private message

 Help with RFI in the shack 
Contributor 2018
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:15 pm
Posts: 14296
Location: io65ga, Donegal
Feedback: 8 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Help with RFI in the shack
wdc wrote:
Paul ,
Thanks for asking,
Have just put another choke out in the garden a quarter wave back from the windoms choke , it has sorted it .
The crappy touch lamp doesn't switch on anymore so that was a good indication.
I went on an ARRL site that explained about the currents on a feed line on different bands and where exactly to place the choke.
Spent a good few hours reading there and its helped no end .
I am supprised that there are not many tech minded hams about on this forum , must be polishing their black boxes.
Cheers :good:


I would've thought a proper choke fitted at the appropriate place would've sufficed, it did on my Windom.
What were/are you using for the original choke?

_________________
Even duct tape can't fix stupid, but it can muffle the sound.


Fri Dec 07, 2012 10:47 pm
Profile Send private message

 Help with RFI in the shack 
Advanced Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 1:20 pm
Posts: 754
Location: Cheshire IO83XL
Feedback: 1 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Help with RFI in the shack
Touch lamps are a menace anyway and the problem has come up in Radcom in the past. The holday cottage where we sometimes go has a pair of them in the bedroom and they wipe out Mediumwave and the lower HF bands.

_________________
Andy


Sun Dec 09, 2012 8:46 am
Profile Send private message WWW

 Help with RFI in the shack 
Advanced Member

Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 11:39 pm
Posts: 200
Location: Lincoln IN13QP
Feedback: 10 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Help with RFI in the shack
Give it to me I can send the wife to bed early and tell her to watch the lamp and learn morse code. All the best.


Sun Dec 09, 2012 10:49 pm
Profile Send private message

 Help with RFI in the shack 
Advanced Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 3:29 pm
Posts: 375
Location: Plymouth IO70WJ
Feedback: 17 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Help with RFI in the shack
wdc wrote:
Hehehehe ,
The touch lamp I was given by my next door neighbour .

They would awake in the middle of the night and wander what was going on .
They replaced the lamp twice.
later another night they got spooked, so not being able to sleep went out into their garden to get some air only to hear what they called the talking shed talking .
Thats why I have the lamp now , I replaced it for them.


But My RFI elimination has improved 10 fold since then . I can run the legal limit on 40m without it going off.
BUT
10m even on 10w it goes off.
The lamp is crap but ,
I have RF in my audio when i am running my rack on 10m so use a handmike there no Rf in my audio on 40 though .



I love the gag about the talking shed. It's funny have most people haven't got a clue what amateur radio is about. Well hope you got it sorted Zoli.

Cheers

Rob.

_________________
Rob James 2E0ONO


Sun Dec 09, 2012 11:12 pm
Profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.