It is currently Sun May 31, 2020 12:58 am

Click the link below to visit the site sponsor

The Ham Radio Shop




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
 Jaybeaam TB2 used as a vertical? 
Advanced Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 1:47 pm
Posts: 158
Location: Locks Heath, IO90iu
Feedback: 0 (0%)
Reply with quote
Post Jaybeaam TB2 used as a vertical?
Hi,
probably an odd question but I have an old TB2 that I no longer use and have been thinking of getting a vertical instead (I currently use a ZS6BKW for the HF bands). I was just wondering if I could use one side of the driven element as a vertical with loads of wires on the ground as the ground-plane / other half of the driven element.

Has anyone tried something like that before and if so were you successful in getting it working? I guess the other alternative is to sell the TB2 and buy a proper vertical but that is not the same as having a play and experiment with aerials!

_________________
Siggi
G5ECO / TF3SI

Near Southampton


Tue Jun 18, 2019 2:12 pm
Profile Send private message WWW

 Jaybeaam TB2 used as a vertical? 
BANNED
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:07 pm
Posts: 11613
Location: Workington, Cumbria.
Feedback: 4 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Jaybeaam TB2 used as a vertical?
I can't think of any reason why it won't work; but at only 14' tall, don't expect miracles.
Maybe as an 'auxiliary' antenna for weak-signal modes?

_________________
Chris, 'oop North.


Tue Jun 18, 2019 2:41 pm
Profile Send private message

 Jaybeaam TB2 used as a vertical? 
Contributor 2019

Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 7:55 pm
Posts: 5
Location: Devizes IO81XJ
Feedback: 2 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Jaybeaam TB2 used as a vertical?
jbeam made a vertical at the same time which is about the same as half a TB2 always thought that they used the same traps could be wrong

George


Tue Jun 18, 2019 2:49 pm
Profile Send private message

 Jaybeaam TB2 used as a vertical? 
Advanced Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 1:47 pm
Posts: 158
Location: Locks Heath, IO90iu
Feedback: 0 (0%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Jaybeaam TB2 used as a vertical?
Thanks Guys, I did not realise that Jaybeam actually produced a vertical. I actually have a Jaybeam Antenna booklet with all their aerials in it and have now found the Vertical which is called VR3 The height / length is 4.1 Mtrs so it's slightly longer than 1/2 the length of the TB2 driven element, but it probably uses the same traps as the TB2 so it's probably worth having a play. I have also just received and email from a guy that is interested in buying the TB2 so I could now go either way ie have a play or sell it and get a proper vertical. That said I'm not sure if there would be any advantage in buying a vertical other than possibly having more bands to play with as the TB2 was only a 10, 15 and 20 mtr aerial.

_________________
Siggi
G5ECO / TF3SI

Near Southampton


Tue Jun 18, 2019 3:08 pm
Profile Send private message WWW

 Jaybeaam TB2 used as a vertical? 
Advanced Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 1:47 pm
Posts: 158
Location: Locks Heath, IO90iu
Feedback: 0 (0%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Jaybeaam TB2 used as a vertical?
I have also found a PW review of the VR3 back in July 1988 on this link https://www.americanradiohistory.com/Ar ... 988-07.pdf
What would we do without the internet!!

_________________
Siggi
G5ECO / TF3SI

Near Southampton


Tue Jun 18, 2019 3:19 pm
Profile Send private message WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.