It is currently Mon Jan 25, 2021 10:48 am

Click the link below to visit the site sponsor

The Ham Radio Shop




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 RFI Into G Fast Router Causing Drop Out? 
Intermediate Member

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 6:37 pm
Posts: 77
Location: Crewe IO83SC
Feedback: 5 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post RFI Into G Fast Router Causing Drop Out?
Has anyone experienced RFI to a G Fast Router? (BT Smart Hub 2 I think model is)
Knocking it out on almost all bands 14Mhz to 28mhz. Using a beam and Dipole for WARC

Its been happening for 2 months since it was installed but I only found out last week, even thought the engineer has been out numerous times and even changed the drop wire twice.
My TB3 was in clear view over the roof, for clues, but maybe I should be pleased then didn't jump to conclusions!

Tried various ferrites on the DC and Line in cables. Have two of the Monster GM3SEK recommended "Problem Solver" ferrites on at the moment (check his website).
No other extensions or phone attached.

I cant be the only one to have this problem?

looking for any help please

73
Pete


Tue Jan 12, 2021 11:08 pm
Profile Send private message

 RFI Into G Fast Router Causing Drop Out? 
Online
Contributor 2020
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 8:00 pm
Posts: 2768
Location: Isle of Wight. IO90FQ. EU-120.
Feedback: 35 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: RFI Into G Fast Router Causing Drop Out?
I still get the odd drop out now and again, am with EE.
Funny how I can have 2 contacts on 20mtrs, but the next one kills the router.
Have had to resort to not playing radio, when the wife is working on her laptop as
she is working from home.
So I now get Thursday thru to Sunday to play.

Phil - G7BZD


Wed Jan 13, 2021 6:50 am
Profile Send private message

 RFI Into G Fast Router Causing Drop Out? 
Contributor 2020

Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 7:02 pm
Posts: 196
Location: Cambridgeshire
Feedback: 2 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: RFI Into G Fast Router Causing Drop Out?
Could be harmonics from an amplifier.
Try a low pass filter after it.
Or just too much power.

If it is rf entering the box directly (made of plastic!), put the thing in a metal box or wrap it in bacofoil.
You made need to connect to it by cable whilst trying this.

All the internet hubs I have opened up so far have minimal shielding. If any at all.

It that works you could then try a separate wifi hub connected to it to provide wifi.

_________________
Icom coffee mug.
8 ele TV Ariel.
Bluetooth speaker.
Technics Amp.


Wed Jan 13, 2021 11:05 am
Profile Send private message WWW

 RFI Into G Fast Router Causing Drop Out? 
Online
Contributor 2020
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 1:46 pm
Posts: 21750
Location: Shropshire UK IO82TN
Feedback: 6 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: RFI Into G Fast Router Causing Drop Out?
M1MPW wrote:
Could be harmonics from an amplifier.
Try a low pass filter after it.
Or just too much power.

If it is rf entering the box directly (made of plastic!), put the thing in a metal box or wrap it in bacofoil.
You made need to connect to it by cable whilst trying this.

All the internet hubs I have opened up so far have minimal shielding. If any at all.

It that works you could then try a separate wifi hub connected to it to provide wifi.

Surely as a lot of these hubs are designed for both direct wired and Wi Fi connections, they can't by design have a lot of RF shielding, or the Wi Fi aspect would simply not work over usable distances :scratch:
Even the older styles of Wi Fi routers that had one or two rubber ducks to wave about, if the filtering on the RF inputs was iffy, the interference could get in via the ducks themselves, even if the rest of the case internal was shielded, and even after ferrite clamping all the connecting external leads.
Most modern Wi Fi routers have no external antennas, so the antenna is simply internal, and as such the case is just plastic.
Of course if its a landline based router, and whilst operating on HF, chances are the phone overheads to the house are nicely in the ballpark to act as HF antennas! ;)

_________________
Dave G0BHD.
Been there and got the T shirt, sadly like the T shirt the memory of it has long since faded, gone rather tatty, and finally been consigned to the bin!


Wed Jan 13, 2021 11:16 am
Profile Send private message

 RFI Into G Fast Router Causing Drop Out? 
Contributor 2020

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 8:11 pm
Posts: 3452
Location: Markyate, St Albans, IO91ST
Feedback: 8 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: RFI Into G Fast Router Causing Drop Out?
Have you tried a choke in the incoming drop from the outside? This cured my problem on both ADSL2+ and VDSL, prior to that it used to kill my router stone dead.

Attachment:
choke1.jpg
choke1.jpg [ 135.57 KiB | Viewed 163 times ]


Of course, it cured mine, but I don't know about anyone else in the district, suffice to say I have seen the BT guy around quite often, but they can go figure, it's payback time after all the grief we have received from VDSL crap.

_________________
Image


Wed Jan 13, 2021 12:50 pm
Profile Send private message

 RFI Into G Fast Router Causing Drop Out? 
Contributor 2020

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 10:47 pm
Posts: 623
Location: IO82ji Radnor
Feedback: 26 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: RFI Into G Fast Router Causing Drop Out?
G4LNA wrote:
Have you tried a choke in the incoming drop from the outside? This cured my problem on both ADSL2+ and VDSL, prior to that it used to kill my router stone dead.

Attachment:
choke1.jpg


Of course, it cured mine, but I don't know about anyone else in the district, suffice to say I have seen the BT guy around quite often, but they can go figure, it's payback time after all the grief we have received from VDSL crap.


Same here, 12 turns on a FT140-61 toroid, why that toroid...? because it was what I had and it seems to work.

Evan


Wed Jan 13, 2021 1:13 pm
Profile Send private message

 RFI Into G Fast Router Causing Drop Out? 
Contributor 2020

Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 7:02 pm
Posts: 196
Location: Cambridgeshire
Feedback: 2 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: RFI Into G Fast Router Causing Drop Out?
My current VM hub has internal shielding completely covering the psu and several of the processor chips.

A previous VM hub had a complete metal cage inside the plastic case with wifi antennas external.

Never had the slightest rf problem with it.

This is probably due to the incoming cable being shielded.

My brother has had RF drop outs caused by a local amateur running a kilowatt plus , but only when the beam is pointing at his house. His router was a BT hub.

Changing to a different provider's hub cured it!

So, maybe some BT hubs are more susceptible to it.

_________________
Icom coffee mug.
8 ele TV Ariel.
Bluetooth speaker.
Technics Amp.


Wed Jan 13, 2021 3:38 pm
Profile Send private message WWW

 RFI Into G Fast Router Causing Drop Out? 
Advanced Member

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 9:20 pm
Posts: 2896
Location: Spalding Lincolnshire IO92WT
Feedback: 1 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: RFI Into G Fast Router Causing Drop Out?
I have a sky router, had to fit a couple of ferrites on power cord and cable from phone socket, can run full legal limit without any issues, the end of the 40/80mtr dipole is 12 inches away from router the otherside of house wall.
curing problems is possible but takes a fair amount of faffing about ie if the cat disturbs the wires i get drop outs, just have to move the cables back into position then all ok again.

_________________
Neill
Its not the class of licence the amateur holds thats important but the class of bias the prat applies to his amplifier


Wed Jan 13, 2021 8:09 pm
Profile Send private message

 RFI Into G Fast Router Causing Drop Out? 
Online
Contributor 2020
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 8:00 pm
Posts: 2768
Location: Isle of Wight. IO90FQ. EU-120.
Feedback: 35 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: RFI Into G Fast Router Causing Drop Out?
Mines 200w max, thats all I have. But its run at about 150w usually, can kill the router some times,
but not all the time.
I have a ferrite, and several clip-ons fitted, incoming lead and the PSU, seemed ok for a while.
Then it just started up again ? Phone line crosses the garden out the back, not as close as it used
to be tho. As the wire got moved when the roof was redone.
No linear here.

Phil - G7BZD


Wed Jan 13, 2021 9:20 pm
Profile Send private message

 RFI Into G Fast Router Causing Drop Out? 
Intermediate Member

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 6:37 pm
Posts: 77
Location: Crewe IO83SC
Feedback: 5 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: RFI Into G Fast Router Causing Drop Out?
Hi All

Thanks for the comments
I have tried various ferrites in the down lead (after the box) and on the smps dc lead, currently have two of the monster GM3SEK recommended clamps (about 1.5 OD , the problem solver as he calls it) but still no good.

I have an amplifier but all these tests have been done at max 100w so I is not "too much" power as suggested. unless you think 100w is too much!
I have run 400w for some years with no issues until this new G Fast / Router was set up over the road. so its either the system or the router.

G4LNA, thanks for the Picture, I tried a choke like that with an FT240-43 with no joy.

73
Pete


Sat Jan 16, 2021 7:43 pm
Profile Send private message

 RFI Into G Fast Router Causing Drop Out? 
Contributor 2020

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 8:11 pm
Posts: 3452
Location: Markyate, St Albans, IO91ST
Feedback: 8 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: RFI Into G Fast Router Causing Drop Out?
I really think you need to keep pestering BT, either the router is not man enough for the job or the G Fast system isn't robust enough to keep signals out of it and BT need to know about it. Get a senior bod involved as the average engineer doesn't always understand the problem.

The problem might not be your router, just a thought.

_________________
Image


Sat Jan 16, 2021 8:20 pm
Profile Send private message

 RFI Into G Fast Router Causing Drop Out? 
Intermediate Member

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 6:37 pm
Posts: 77
Location: Crewe IO83SC
Feedback: 5 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: RFI Into G Fast Router Causing Drop Out?
Hi Paul

I dont have an issue with my router, its across the road the problem.
Openreach are involved, but getting someone from their "noise" team seems difficult to sort

But I have told the neighbour not to let them close case until its solved, just because I am trying to help, as its BT's problem really

73
Pete


Sat Jan 16, 2021 10:47 pm
Profile Send private message

 RFI Into G Fast Router Causing Drop Out? 
Contributor 2020

Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 7:02 pm
Posts: 196
Location: Cambridgeshire
Feedback: 2 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: RFI Into G Fast Router Causing Drop Out?
Do you both have the same router?
If so , you could try swapping the routers over.
It would need both the routers setting up again for each house.

Have BT replaced the router ?

Also, are you sure it is your transmissions that are causing the drop outs and they are not just occurring so frequently that it appears so?


Mark

_________________
Icom coffee mug.
8 ele TV Ariel.
Bluetooth speaker.
Technics Amp.


Sat Jan 16, 2021 11:19 pm
Profile Send private message WWW

 RFI Into G Fast Router Causing Drop Out? 
Online
Contributor 2020
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 8:00 pm
Posts: 2768
Location: Isle of Wight. IO90FQ. EU-120.
Feedback: 35 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: RFI Into G Fast Router Causing Drop Out?
I have an EE router here, so far today I have knocked it out at least 20 times.
FT240-31 on incoming lead from master socket to router, approx 12 turns from memory,
clip ons on PSU lead and anything else I could fit one on, and thats at least two turns
thru each clip on.
Bloody annoying, as I have to check to see if my contacts are making it to the web.
If I could get a mobile signal in the house I would not even be bothered.

Phil - G7BZD


Sat Jan 16, 2021 11:21 pm
Profile Send private message

 RFI Into G Fast Router Causing Drop Out? 
Intermediate Member

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 6:37 pm
Posts: 77
Location: Crewe IO83SC
Feedback: 5 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: RFI Into G Fast Router Causing Drop Out?
No we dont have the same routers, I am on Plusnet with their own router and no issues, he uses BT GFast with a Smart Hub 2 and its flattened.
Yes we have done the tests and its definitly me that drops it

73


Sun Jan 17, 2021 10:26 am
Profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.