It is currently Mon Feb 24, 2020 4:36 am

Click the link below to visit the site sponsor

The Ham Radio Shop




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
 Icom 7300 fault 
Advanced Member

Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 5:34 pm
Posts: 1076
Location: Tamworth Staffordshire IO92EP
Feedback: 14 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Icom 7300 fault
Connected my LDG At-1000 tuner up tonight as I was having a move around.
Nothing, Nada, Zilch. It was working fine before the move.
Cables are OK, checked output on tuner socket on back or radio and there is no 13.8 volt.
Looks like a fault. Anybody had anything similar.? Or shall I get it back to Icom.?

Yes full reset done.

Alan

_________________
Was M6NTA, then 2E0NTA now M0XAL.


Wed Mar 28, 2018 8:21 pm
Profile Send private message

 Icom 7300 fault 
Advanced Member

Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2016 1:23 pm
Posts: 651
Location: Black Country
Feedback: 6 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Icom 7300 fault
Go into menus, turn off internal tuner.
The radio will get very confused if it has to tell two tuners what to do at the same time

_________________
All posts submitted without superfluous exclamation marks


Wed Mar 28, 2018 10:02 pm
Profile Send private message

 Icom 7300 fault 
Advanced Member

Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 5:34 pm
Posts: 1076
Location: Tamworth Staffordshire IO92EP
Feedback: 14 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Icom 7300 fault
No it's not that. It knows when an external tuner is connected and automatically switches off the internal one.
Gerry (NYC) has informed me that it's possibly the internal 5 amp fuse inside the radio that's blown - this fuse protects all the 13.8v outputs on the back of the radio. The back is coming off tomorrow when I can it properly.

_________________
Was M6NTA, then 2E0NTA now M0XAL.


Wed Mar 28, 2018 10:05 pm
Profile Send private message

 Icom 7300 fault 
Advanced Member

Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 5:34 pm
Posts: 1076
Location: Tamworth Staffordshire IO92EP
Feedback: 14 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Icom 7300 fault
It's not the fuse. :cry:

_________________
Was M6NTA, then 2E0NTA now M0XAL.


Thu Mar 29, 2018 7:06 am
Profile Send private message

 Icom 7300 fault 
Contributor 2019
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 3:50 pm
Posts: 4690
Location: IO95DA Newcastle Upon Tyne
Feedback: 20 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Icom 7300 fault
It is software controlled, might have shat its pants - try a hard reset first before you do anything else.


Thu Mar 29, 2018 7:12 am
Profile Send private message WWW

 Icom 7300 fault 
Advanced Member

Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 5:34 pm
Posts: 1076
Location: Tamworth Staffordshire IO92EP
Feedback: 14 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Icom 7300 fault
2E1IIP wrote:
It is software controlled, might have shat its pants - try a hard reset first before you do anything else.


Done that, was the first thing I tried. Mail to Icom sent.

_________________
Was M6NTA, then 2E0NTA now M0XAL.


Thu Mar 29, 2018 7:39 am
Profile Send private message

 Icom 7300 fault 
Advanced Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 5:32 pm
Posts: 4793
Location: Salisbury, Wiltshire
Feedback: 20 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Icom 7300 fault
Are you absolutely certain the cables are always good? Only ask because I had a similar issue with a radio recently and it was a devil to find. I changed the molex just to be certain and it cured it. Intermittent molex contact

_________________
David. G4YVM


Thu Mar 29, 2018 8:13 am
Profile Send private message

 Icom 7300 fault 
Advanced Member

Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 5:34 pm
Posts: 1076
Location: Tamworth Staffordshire IO92EP
Feedback: 14 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Icom 7300 fault
I've been on the phone to Geoff @ Icom, there is a fusable inductor on pin 3 of the ext tuner circuit which blows at 1amp.
So it's off to Icom for repair (as I can't solder fly droppings).

Moral of the story, don't connect tuners with the radio powered on.

Cheers to everybody for suggestions and feedback.

_________________
Was M6NTA, then 2E0NTA now M0XAL.


Thu Mar 29, 2018 9:09 am
Profile Send private message

 Icom 7300 fault 
Advanced Member

Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 5:34 pm
Posts: 1076
Location: Tamworth Staffordshire IO92EP
Feedback: 14 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Icom 7300 fault
The offending fly doo-dah.
Attachment:
image001.png
image001.png [ 22.41 KiB | Viewed 2808 times ]

_________________
Was M6NTA, then 2E0NTA now M0XAL.


Thu Mar 29, 2018 9:26 am
Profile Send private message

 Icom 7300 fault 
Contributor 2019
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 3:50 pm
Posts: 4690
Location: IO95DA Newcastle Upon Tyne
Feedback: 20 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Icom 7300 fault
Nowt that a blob over solder over the top wouldn't fix ;)


Thu Mar 29, 2018 10:08 am
Profile Send private message WWW

 Icom 7300 fault 
Advanced Member

Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 5:34 pm
Posts: 1076
Location: Tamworth Staffordshire IO92EP
Feedback: 14 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Icom 7300 fault
Being brutally honest I had thought that (yes I have noticed the smiley). Then my wallet throbbed and I imagined how much extra the next repair would cost. :this:

_________________
Was M6NTA, then 2E0NTA now M0XAL.


Thu Mar 29, 2018 10:17 am
Profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.