It is currently Tue Oct 27, 2020 2:33 pm

Click the link below to visit the site sponsor

The Ham Radio Shop




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
 Morse Code over digital networks? 
Advanced Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 10:41 pm
Posts: 1352
Location: Walsall IO82XN
Feedback: 5 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Morse Code over digital networks?
Folks!

This might seem like an odd question, but does anyone use Morse Code over any of the digital voice systems?

I've seen references to using keyed audio oscillators fed in to the microphone sockets of radios in order to use them for Morse, but I've struggled to find further information as to whether there are any dedicated groups, allocated channels or what have you.

Any ideas or links anyone?

73, Mark...

_________________
# G-QRP # FISTS # SKCC # LIDS CW #

https://forum.brasspounder.net


Fri Oct 16, 2020 5:36 pm
Profile Send private message WWW

 Morse Code over digital networks? 
Top Poster
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 1:46 pm
Posts: 21135
Location: Shropshire UK IO82TN
Feedback: 5 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Morse Code over digital networks?
G0KZZ wrote:
Folks!

This might seem like an odd question, but does anyone use Morse Code over any of the digital voice systems?

I've seen references to using keyed audio oscillators fed in to the microphone sockets of radios in order to use them for Morse, but I've struggled to find further information as to whether there are any dedicated groups, allocated channels or what have you.

Any ideas or links anyone?

73, Mark...

Well I guess its little different to the "tone" imposed CW on good old 2 meters FM, back in the "practice and learn" net days, under control of whichever tutor undertook the task. :)
If you can do it with a flashed "torch" between two points, why not on a digital audio radio link? :D

_________________
Dave G0BHD.
Been there and got the T shirt, sadly like the T shirt the memory of it has long since faded, gone rather tatty, and finally been consigned to the bin!


Fri Oct 16, 2020 5:53 pm
Profile Send private message

 Morse Code over digital networks? 
Advanced Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 10:41 pm
Posts: 1352
Location: Walsall IO82XN
Feedback: 5 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Morse Code over digital networks?
Ah yes, I remember those days. The term they used at the time was "MCW", literally modulated cw.

You could not even send MCW without a notice of variation to your licence (I still have my NOV!).

It's OK, someone was asking on the Brasspounder forum about using CW over the digital radio systems. I have never heard of it personally, but then I don't use digital audio.

After much investigation around the web I thought it would be much better to ask those that do use the various digital voice networks/radios if they know the answer.

73, Mark...

_________________
# G-QRP # FISTS # SKCC # LIDS CW #

https://forum.brasspounder.net


Fri Oct 16, 2020 10:00 pm
Profile Send private message WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.