It is currently Thu Sep 20, 2018 2:09 pm

Click the link below to visit the site sponsor

The Ham Radio Shop




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
 Connecting 70mhz transverter to Ts2000 
Contributor 2017

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 2:13 pm
Posts: 382
Location: Wetherby,North Yorks
Feedback: 31 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Connecting 70mhz transverter to Ts2000
I have a Kenwood TS2000 and have just bought a Ukrainian transverter the ones sold on EBay,now iam wanting to know what lead I need to connect the Ptt line on the transverter to the Ts2000.Is the lead I need the phono to din that is also used for Linear operation?Due to my disability I can’t hold a soldering iron as I shake so I need if possible to buy the correct lead I need.Any help much appreciated,many thanks Mark


Mon Nov 06, 2017 10:45 am
Profile Send private message

 Connecting 70mhz transverter to Ts2000 
Contributor 2018
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 8:22 pm
Posts: 1149
Location: Monteneuf - Brittany IN87VV
Feedback: 98 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Connecting 70mhz transverter to Ts2000
Hi Mark

As you'll be using HF to drive the transverter the 7pin Din "Remote" connector on the rear panel gives you the switching output.

A suitable lead is here with TX switching coming out on a RCA plug;
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Linear-ampli ... xy63FSvYvp

If you wanted to TX switch something on 50MHz and up then that would use the "EXT" connector and require a different lead.

Hope it helps
73

Kelvin

_________________
Kelvin F4VPC / GW4TTU, feeling a bit like Bonnie Tyler - Lost in France !


Mon Nov 06, 2017 2:40 pm
Profile Send private message WWW

 Connecting 70mhz transverter to Ts2000 
Contributor 2017
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 7:56 pm
Posts: 1433
Location: JO01JN great wakering Essex
Feedback: 60 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Connecting 70mhz transverter to Ts2000
From memory you have to enable the PTT switching in the menu on the TS2000 ...also you can go into the menu and set the ts2000 in transverter mode so it gives out max of 5w ..and you can also set the display in transverter mode to display the 70mhz band in your case

_________________
Steve

23cms ..250w 36 ele yagi
5.7ghz 18w to dish


Mon Nov 06, 2017 2:49 pm
Profile Send private message

 Connecting 70mhz transverter to Ts2000 
Contributor 2018
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 1:09 pm
Posts: 8737
Location: West Midlands
Feedback: 88 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Connecting 70mhz transverter to Ts2000
I trust you bought one with the attenuator board?

They need a very low power to drive them, and normal low power will liberate the magic smoke.

I should think you have looked at this, but just a mention.

_________________
===================
Gee Three Eee Jay Ess - RSGB, SARL, G-QRP, FISTS, EPC
===================


Mon Nov 06, 2017 2:58 pm
Profile Send private message

 Connecting 70mhz transverter to Ts2000 
Contributor 2017

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 2:13 pm
Posts: 382
Location: Wetherby,North Yorks
Feedback: 31 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Connecting 70mhz transverter to Ts2000
Yes many thanks for all the information,yes it has the board in and I know it’s low power but thanks for the warning.I will order the lead suggested.I did run the same transverter on my Pro2,it was much easier to set up ,I was just unsure if I connected to the Remote socket so the Ptt would work.Now I know so once again many thanks.Mark


Mon Nov 06, 2017 3:23 pm
Profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.