It is currently Sun Aug 19, 2018 6:10 pm

Click the link below to visit the site sponsor

The Ham Radio Shop




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
 CW Tranceiver 
Advanced Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 5:32 pm
Posts: 3465
Location: Salisbury, Wiltshire
Feedback: 16 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: CW Tranceiver
Nice work Steve.
I seem to be the only person who couldn't get knobs to fit.

Is it succesfully dual band?

_________________
David. G4YVM


Sat Feb 10, 2018 11:07 am
Profile Send private message

 CW Tranceiver 
Contributor 2018
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 1:09 pm
Posts: 8631
Location: West Midlands
Feedback: 87 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: CW Tranceiver
It is successfully dual band :)

I just used the knobs that came with it, but would point out that the encoder and volume control are mounted on the case and not on the PCB.

I also fitted a DC socket on the case.

The tactile switches are ones with long shafts, not the short ones that came in the box.

All working as it should, I want to calibrate the frequency to read the same as the 7300, it is about 200Hz out.

I wouldn't say it is better than the 7300, but it is not worse. Probably easier to listen to, the noise seems less compared to the signals.

Unbelievable performance for the money.

Attachment:
qrp0ut1.jpg
qrp0ut1.jpg [ 97.6 KiB | Viewed 250 times ]

_________________
===================
Gee Three Eee Jay Ess - RSGB, SARL, G-QRP, FISTS, EPC
===================


Sun Feb 11, 2018 10:10 am
Profile Send private message

 CW Tranceiver 
Contributor 2018
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 1:09 pm
Posts: 8631
Location: West Midlands
Feedback: 87 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: CW Tranceiver
I had to mess around to set the frequency, but now it is now within 10Hz of the display on the 7300

I have built numerous QRP rigs in the past, but this makes them all look like toys.

It would be a very respectable rig to use at home if the power was all that was needed, very easy on the ears.

My only minor irritation is that the sidetone goes through the volume control, and as it has no ALC, you need to adjust the volume for the station you hear, which means the side tone level changes too.

It's like getting the 7300 all over again :)

The decoder does a better job than most too, didn't notice at first, but checked it and it is fairly good if you like them.

_________________
===================
Gee Three Eee Jay Ess - RSGB, SARL, G-QRP, FISTS, EPC
===================


Sun Feb 11, 2018 12:55 pm
Profile Send private message

 CW Tranceiver 
Advanced Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 5:32 pm
Posts: 3465
Location: Salisbury, Wiltshire
Feedback: 16 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: CW Tranceiver
You...be done the same as me vis vis buttons and dc etc. I agree, the performance is unquestionable, the qsk flawless and reader is very good.

The downside I find is dodgy keying on iambic a and on mine an iffy start up...known fault. It needs work to be really very good as a kit but not for the price. At forty quid it's disposable. Thats the way to see it. But mine works like yours and I'm impressed. It'll be my portable rig in the summer.

D

_________________
David. G4YVM


Sun Feb 11, 2018 3:42 pm
Profile Send private message

 CW Tranceiver 
Contributor 2018
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 1:09 pm
Posts: 8631
Location: West Midlands
Feedback: 87 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: CW Tranceiver
I was asked to show how I made it dual band.

The TX side stayed the same, I am getting about 4W out on both 20m and 17m
The inductors and the low pass filter must be made for the higher frequency, ie 17m, so those with a 20m kit will need to check values. Mine came with capacitors for either.

On the receive side, the input coil again must be wound for 17m, not 20m.
On the board, there is place to put a capacitor across the trimmer if it is needed on a standard build.
I put a 30pf trimmer on the ground side, then connected the other side through a switch.

Attachment:
qrp0ut2.jpg
qrp0ut2.jpg [ 72.25 KiB | Viewed 186 times ]



All you need to do then is to peak the original capacitor on 17m, then switch in the additional one and peak that (without touching the original) on 20m.

You may have to adjust the coil slightly to get the circuit to peak mid range on the original trimmer.

It is essential to read the adjustment instruction in the manual very carefully.

_________________
===================
Gee Three Eee Jay Ess - RSGB, SARL, G-QRP, FISTS, EPC
===================


Sat Mar 10, 2018 10:36 am
Profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.