It is currently Sat Aug 18, 2018 7:12 am

Click the link below to visit the site sponsor

The Ham Radio Shop




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Running coax underground ? 
Contributor 2018

Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 3:34 pm
Posts: 1645
Location: Fife in scotland
Feedback: 70 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Running coax underground ?
Toying with the idea off running around 30 feet off coax underground from mast to shack window . Be great to hear from anyone here who has done such a thing and how you went about it ? The area where the coax would be buried would be mostly under grass. Would be using rg58x coax cable which although thin would be enclosed within tubing. Thinking off using this to enclose the cable within... any thoughts ?

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/11M-12x8mm-B ... Swva1a1KTc

_________________
Icom IC7300 / Kenwood TR751e
5/8 wave 10mtr vertical / 80-10mtr OCF dipole.
Behringer xm8500 mic ( IC7300 ) Datong ASP ( TR751e )
Ameritron als600x s/s linear

QRV on 10mtrs ssb.


Tue May 15, 2018 9:11 pm
Profile Send private message

 Running coax underground ? 
Advanced Member

Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 3:16 pm
Posts: 1293
Location: Dunfermline, IO86ib
Feedback: 8 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running coax underground ?
Garden hose is another option.


Tue May 15, 2018 9:19 pm
Profile Send private message

 Running coax underground ? 
Advanced Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 5:32 pm
Posts: 3459
Location: Salisbury, Wiltshire
Feedback: 16 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running coax underground ?
I run a short length which i wrap fully in good self amalgamating tape. It ends up like a submarine cable but its never failed me in many years service. I looked at garden hose etc which isnfine if it stays dry, but i couldnt fathom whatto do if it didnt...

Hth

David

_________________
David. G4YVM


Wed May 16, 2018 4:19 am
Profile Send private message

 Running coax underground ? 
Contributor 2018

Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 3:34 pm
Posts: 1645
Location: Fife in scotland
Feedback: 70 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running coax underground ?
Okay cheers guys as always appreciate the advice given. Never thought about garden hose so yes another idea !
Maybe over thinking things but not sure regards how deep down to lay any coax / hose so that frost is not an issue come winter time ? Great idea re. Self amalgamating David do you use rg58 or rg213 ?

_________________
Icom IC7300 / Kenwood TR751e
5/8 wave 10mtr vertical / 80-10mtr OCF dipole.
Behringer xm8500 mic ( IC7300 ) Datong ASP ( TR751e )
Ameritron als600x s/s linear

QRV on 10mtrs ssb.


Wed May 16, 2018 6:39 am
Profile Send private message

 Running coax underground ? 
Advanced Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 5:32 pm
Posts: 3459
Location: Salisbury, Wiltshire
Feedback: 16 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running coax underground ?
I used rg58 for my run. What aerial are you feeding? Only ask because if you can use airborne open wire it would be better

D

_________________
David. G4YVM


Wed May 16, 2018 6:53 am
Profile Send private message

 Running coax underground ? 
Contributor 2018

Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 3:34 pm
Posts: 1645
Location: Fife in scotland
Feedback: 70 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running coax underground ?
Okay cheers David using an HF vertical for 10

_________________
Icom IC7300 / Kenwood TR751e
5/8 wave 10mtr vertical / 80-10mtr OCF dipole.
Behringer xm8500 mic ( IC7300 ) Datong ASP ( TR751e )
Ameritron als600x s/s linear

QRV on 10mtrs ssb.


Wed May 16, 2018 7:56 am
Profile Send private message

 Running coax underground ? 
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 1:02 pm
Posts: 14139
Location: IO83lb, Wrexham
Feedback: 16 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running coax underground ?
I just use drainage duct, the plastic variety as there's no vehicles going over it.
Loads of cables and just lift the lids to make changes.
Attachment:
duct1.jpg
duct1.jpg [ 113.98 KiB | Viewed 676 times ]

It goes along the edge of the lawn and crosses a path, then along the edge of the drive to the house.

Just make openings in the bottom so it drains down its length, rather than fill up with water. :lol:

Cheers

Tony

_________________
50MHz and above from IO83lb


Wed May 16, 2018 8:53 am
Profile Send private message

 Running coax underground ? 
Post Number 10,000 M0DUH
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 11:13 pm
Posts: 653
Location: Sale, Manchester, IO83UK
Feedback: 21 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running coax underground ?
Narrow width drain pipe with glued joints end caps at both ends,
depending on length you could run two lengths of string/rope through
so you can add more coax runs in the future.

_________________
Death is hereditary,
You get it from your ancestors.
"Terry Pratchett"


Wed May 16, 2018 1:46 pm
Profile Send private message YIM

 Running coax underground ? 
Contributor 2018
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 10:05 am
Posts: 1618
Location: Banbury Oxfordshire
Feedback: 14 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running coax underground ?
:) It depends on how long a run as cost might impact on your decision

If it is going into a flower border I would use 15mm copper pipe as conduit (seriously) that way it can't be easily cut with a spade by accident .

I remember many years ago I had a friend that lived in a village near here called Ettington and he did something similar.

Where the cable goes in and comes out you can use a compression joint with an end cap. If you then drill the end cap to the some diametre as the coax you can seal it with either silicon or hot glue at that point.

I hope that helps in some way

_________________
now a proud member of the GQRP club


Wed May 16, 2018 3:32 pm
Profile Send private message

 Running coax underground ? 
Contributor 2017
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 12:00 pm
Posts: 2641
Location: Warrington-ish......... IO83ql
Feedback: 99 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running coax underground ?
your local plumbers merchant will sell barrier pipe, 10/15/22/28mm diameter, and 25/50m lengths, grey or white.

_________________
Heil - Icom - Expert - Mosley

from here, to the world.


Wed May 16, 2018 3:50 pm
Profile Send private message

 Running coax underground ? 
Contributor 2018

Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 3:34 pm
Posts: 1645
Location: Fife in scotland
Feedback: 70 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running coax underground ?
Great stuff thanks so much again to all who gave what has been some great advice.

_________________
Icom IC7300 / Kenwood TR751e
5/8 wave 10mtr vertical / 80-10mtr OCF dipole.
Behringer xm8500 mic ( IC7300 ) Datong ASP ( TR751e )
Ameritron als600x s/s linear

QRV on 10mtrs ssb.


Wed May 16, 2018 5:10 pm
Profile Send private message

 Running coax underground ? 
Advanced Member

Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 6:45 pm
Posts: 326
Location: Coventry, England IO92EK
Feedback: 9 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running coax underground ?
Rg8x in hose pipe. Worked perfectly until family decided to fix our garden one day. Lawn edging shears can cut through those pipe in 27 separate locations :banghead:

Motto is just cos you know what it is.....

Ian

_________________
Bring on the trumpets


Wed May 16, 2018 7:22 pm
Profile Send private message

 Running coax underground ? 
Contributor 2017
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:15 pm
Posts: 13790
Location: io65ga, Donegal
Feedback: 8 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running coax underground ?
If buried underground and for a single run of coax my choice would be housing it inside alkathene pipe.

_________________
Even duct tape can't fix stupid, but it can muffle the sound.


Wed May 16, 2018 8:24 pm
Profile Send private message

 Running coax underground ? 
Contributor 2018

Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 3:34 pm
Posts: 1645
Location: Fife in scotland
Feedback: 70 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running coax underground ?
Okay perfect thanks will check that out also.

_________________
Icom IC7300 / Kenwood TR751e
5/8 wave 10mtr vertical / 80-10mtr OCF dipole.
Behringer xm8500 mic ( IC7300 ) Datong ASP ( TR751e )
Ameritron als600x s/s linear

QRV on 10mtrs ssb.


Thu May 17, 2018 7:17 am
Profile Send private message

 Running coax underground ? 
Advanced Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 8:56 pm
Posts: 2896
Location: IO92mg Northampton... Boz Wellox!
Feedback: 2 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running coax underground ?
25mm flexible conduit from toolstation at 23squid for 50M of the stuff!

https://www.toolstation.com/shop/Electr ... uit/p47607

Cheers, Dave.


Thu May 17, 2018 4:57 pm
Profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.