It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 9:51 pm

Click the link below to visit the site sponsor

The Ham Radio Shop




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
 SOTABeam Quad Bander - any use on 60m? 
Contributor 2017
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 12:03 pm
Posts: 25
Location: Windermere, IO84NI
Feedback: 0 (0%)
Reply with quote
Post SOTABeam Quad Bander - any use on 60m?
Greetings

I have a SOTABeams quad bander which covers 80/40/30/20m as a half wave dipole. I use it supported centrally in an inverted-V configuration. It has a 1:1 current balun.

Would the 30m setting be any use on the 60m band as a 1/4 wave dipole? Would the performance be acceptable?

Still learning about antennas!

Regards, Mark

_________________
M0NOM


Sun Nov 12, 2017 11:38 am
Profile Send private message YIM WWW

 SOTABeam Quad Bander - any use on 60m? 
Advanced Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 5:25 pm
Posts: 529
Location: Wearside
Feedback: 6 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: SOTABeam Quad Bander - any use on 60m?
Suck it and see...
if it fails two bits of wire matched for 60 would not take a lot to construct.
with a feeder to your rig. You'll have a choice of two antennas to select from.
By the way what tuner are you using. Here I use a Full size G5RV my Icom 7300
will not tune this antenna on 60m. Using an External ATU works fine.
73
Keith
M0KLL

_________________
Each morning I congratulate myself for been a day older than the day before.....


Sun Nov 12, 2017 5:34 pm
Profile Send private message

 SOTABeam Quad Bander - any use on 60m? 
Contributor 2017
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 12:03 pm
Posts: 25
Location: Windermere, IO84NI
Feedback: 0 (0%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: SOTABeam Quad Bander - any use on 60m?
Hi Keith

Will do. I don't use a tuner with this dipole as it is resonant on the supported bands. It's always useful to know the limits of built in tuners.

Regards Mark.
M0NOM

_________________
M0NOM


Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:54 pm
Profile Send private message YIM WWW

 SOTABeam Quad Bander - any use on 60m? 
Contributor 2017

Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 7:22 pm
Posts: 1553
Location: Doncaster area IO93KP SE61
Feedback: 58 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: SOTABeam Quad Bander - any use on 60m?
M0NOM wrote:
Hi Keith

Will do. I don't use a tuner with this dipole as it is resonant on the supported bands. It's always useful to know the limits of built in tuners.

Regards Mark.
M0NOM



Depends on the radio as to whether the internal ATU is useful or not as an example i use a 282ft loop fed with open wire and a external ATU. But my internal ATU on the elecraft will match everything apart from 60m, The internal ATU on the yaesu will only match 3 bands.

hence i never use internal ATUs most of them are limited to 3:1, other will match 10:1.

Even though my external ATU will bring the SWR to 1:1 on 60 the losses are horrendous so i have a dedicated 60m dipole.

1:1 SWR is not everything my dummy load is a constant 1:1 on any band but crap as a antenna

Regards

Keith G0TSH

_________________
I fixed it.....................Then again maybe not..........


Sat Nov 18, 2017 6:15 pm
Profile Send private message

 SOTABeam Quad Bander - any use on 60m? 
Online
Contributor 2017
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:07 pm
Posts: 7751
Location: Workington, Cumbria.
Feedback: 4 (100%)
Reply with quote
Post Re: SOTABeam Quad Bander - any use on 60m?
Why not just put another two links in, each 15m from the centre?

_________________
Chris


Sat Nov 18, 2017 6:38 pm
Profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.